SHORT DESCRIPTION

KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd is a site of contemporary art production and exhibitions, a space for experiments and for artistic processes and presentations, and it is a space for workshops and working together.
The work of KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd is not about making “something” into an event, but about finding methods, formats and partners in keeping with the time, in order to do something together, actively participate, produce something visible, enhance perception, create experiences and live cooperation. What is essential is communicating through, with, and about visual art about society, city, and respect – in as many languages as possible and also without words.
KunstRaum provides a kaleidoscope of offers that stand for an expanded understanding of art // in an expanded context. Here art is given scope to take up its task of building bridges between the most diverse people and between art and social issues.
This self-understanding and the ongoing work that builds on it are the starting point for taking up current social and artistic issues in cooperation with artists, cultural producers, residents of the city, and social/cultural institutions.
KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd is an offer from pro mente OÖ


Team

Michaela Keita – Kornfehl keita-kornfehlm at promenteooe.at
Susanne Blaimschein susanne.blaimschein at kunstraum.at
Beate Rathmayr beate.rathmayr at kunstraum.at
Magdlena Klepatsch magdalena.klepatsch at kunstraum.at
Margit Gusenbauer margit.gusenbauer at kunstraum.at kunstraum.at
Ramona Schübl schueblr at promenteooe.at
Michael Pühringer michael.puehringer at kunstraum.at
Franz X. Ruhmanseder


Space

KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd is located since 2008 at the address Goethestraße 30, in the Neustadtviertel neighborhood of Linz, in a residential building. It can be reached by foot from the train station (10 min) and from the Main Square of Linz (10 min).

Directly in front of the entrance to the exhibition/presentation/workshop space there is a bus stop – the stop Humboldtstraße, where the buses 19 and 25 stop.
In total, three exhibition spaces on two levels are available, with an area of about 350 square meters. The spaces on the ground floor (exhibition space and display space) are characterized by full-sized display windows. The lower level, which is windowless, is especially suitable for projections/sound installations.


Videolinks

CO – WORKING LAB

 

Co-working Lab [https://www.dorftv.at/video/26295]
City of Respect Trailer [https://www.dorftv.at/video/26252]
Presentation of the Art Award of Honor of the City of Linz [https://www.dorftv.at/video/26184]
Exhibition Opening: My Universe. The World Inside My Head [https://www.dorftv.at/video/26159]
[p]Art. What Does a City of Respect Look Like For Me? [https://www.dorftv.at/video/24355]
Exhibition Opening: Years After Zero. Tea Mäkipää

 

 


Awards

Art Award of Honor of the City of Linz 2016 for Visual Art and Interdisciplinary Art Forms presented to Susanne Blaimschein and Beate Rathmayr for their work in KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd.
The Art Award of Honor of the City of Linz is presented to a person, a group, an institution, a cultural initiative, and/or an association as recognition for their overall artistic or cultural work, which can be regarded as an outstanding contribution in Linz and Austria. The Art Award of Honor is awarded on the basis of a recommendation from a jury of experts every four years. In November 2016 Beate Rathmayr and Susanne Blaimschein received the Art Award of Honor in the section “Visual Art and Interdisciplinary Art Forms” for their work together KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd, pro mente OÖ. Further award-winners are the Architecture Forum Upper Austria, Dorf TV, Marcus Füreder/Parov Stelar and Walter Pilar.
http://www.linz.at/presse/kultur_top_news_84792.asp
Jury Statement:
“With KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd Blaimschein and Rathmayr have been enriching cultural and social life in Linz in a unique way for many years. Their projects productively cross boundaries between art, city district culture, and psycho-social offers. Participation is one of the essential guidelines of their work, from activation methods of visual art all the way to theatric formats. Art in public space and its strategies are an essential part of the activity of KunstRaum, where the projects, exhibitions and events are realized primarily in the polyvocality of teams.
Located in the Neustadt neighborhood of Linz, which is marked by migration, Blaimschein and Rathmayr have developed a conscious way of dealing with this location. Residents are invited to participate and utilize the offers on an equal level with cultural producers, the art scene, and clients of the supporting organization pro mente. Blaimschein and Rathmayr open up possibility spaces again and again for participants and visitors. For Linz they open up not only local cooperations, but also internationally oriented cooperations – for example, in conjunction with EU projects or student exchanges.
Quotations from the jury: “They could make things easier for themselves, but they don’t.” “Without KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd. Linz would be poorer.”
AWARDS:
2014 _ City of Cultures 2014 in cooperation with ibuk
2014 _  Federal Ministry for Education and Women’s Affairs _ Award for the cultural cooperation “Small Tools for a Large Movement” with the school association of the school Kreuzschwestern in Linz
2012 _ City of Cultures 2012 – in cooperation with ZIKO and Iris Andraschek
2010 _ City of Cultures 2010 – in cooperation with ibuk
City of Diversity – Prize of the City of Linz for Integration and Interculturality – in cooperation with migrare
2008 _ Small State Cultural Prize for Cultural Work Initiatives

NEWS

READ MORE

WHO WE ARE

FIND OUT

WHAT WE DO

EXPLORE

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Besondere des KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd ist es,  für ein erweitertes Kunstverständnis zu arbeiten und  der Kunst eine Brückenbauaufgabe zwischen unterschiedlichsten Menschen und zwischen Kunst – Sozialem zukommen zu lassen.

KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd ist ein Ort zeitgenössischer Kunstproduktion, Raum für Experiment und für künstlerische Prozesse und Präsentationen, wie Raum für Workshops, gemeinsames Arbeiten und Ausstellungen in Linz/OÖ.

City of Respect, die im KunstRaum (2008) gestartete Initiative für eine Stadt des Respekts, ist – gemeinsam mit Kooperationspartner*nnen und den Stadtnutzer*innen – unser langfristiges Ziel.

Wir richten uns an Kunst- und Kulturinteressierte, Künstler*innen, an Menschen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen und psychosozialen Beeinträchtigungen, an Nachbar*nnen, Schüler*nnen und Jugendliche, an Kooperationspartner*nnen im Sozial-, Gesundheits-, Bildungs- und Kultur und Kunstkontext und eine interessierte Öffentlichkeit.

Der KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd ist ein Angebot der pro mente OÖ. Er wird gefördert aus öffentlichen Mitteln, Kunst- und Kulturpreise, Projekt – Sponsoring und Kooperationen und übernimmt Auftragsarbeiten, wie künstlerische Gestaltungen, für private Personen und Unternehmen.

 

Bei der Arbeit des KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd geht es uns darum nicht „etwas“ zu eventisieren, sondern der Zeit entsprechend sowohl Methoden wie Formate und Partner*innen zu finden um gemeinsam zu Tun, sich aktiv einzubringen, Sichtbares zu produzieren, Wahrnehmung anzustoßen und Erlebnisse zu schaffen und Kooperationen zu leben. Durch, mit und über bildende Kunst über Gesellschaft, Stadt und Respekt – in möglichst vielen Sprachen und auch ohne Wörter – zu kommunizieren ist wesentlich.

 

Aus diesem Selbstverständnis und der darauf aufbauenden kontinuierlichen Arbeit gilt es in der Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffenden, Stadtbewohner*innen und Sozial/Kulturinstitutionen aktuelle gesellschaftliche und künstlerische Fragestellungen aufzugreifen.

 


Team

Mag.a Michaela Keita – Kornfehl_ keita-kornfehlm at promenteooe.at


Mag.a Susanne Blaimschein susanne.blaimschein at kunstraum.at


Mag. a Beate Rathmayr beate.rathmayr at kunstraum.at


Magdlena Klepatsch magdalena.klepatsch at kunstraum.at


Margit Gusenbauer margit.gusenbauer at kunstraum.at kunstraum.at


Ramona Schübl schueblr at promenteooe.at


Michael Pühringer michael.puehringer at kunstraum.at


Franz X. Ruhmanseder


Raum

Aktuelles vom AUSSTELLUNGSRAUM

Der KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd ist seit 2008 in der Goethestraße 30, im Neustadtviertel von Linz, in einem Wohnhaus angesiedelt. Fußläufig vom Bahnhof (10 min) und dem Hauptplatz von Linz (10 min) erreichbar, befindet sich direkt vor dem Eingang zum Ausstellung/Präsentations/WerkstattRaum die Bushaltestelle Nr. 19, 25 – Bushaltestelle Humboldtstraße.

In Summe stehen 3 Ausstellungsflächen auf 2 Ebenen mit ca 350 qm zur Verfügung. Die Räume im OG (Ausstellungsraum und Schauraum) sind durch vollflächige Schaufenster gekennzeichnet. Das UG, fensterlos, eignet sich besondes für Projektionen/ Sound -Installationen..

 

 

 


Videolinks


Preise

Kunstwürdigungspreis der Stadt Linz 2016 für Bildende Kunst und Interdisziplinäre Kunstformen  an Mag. a Susanne Blaimschein und Mag. a Beate Rathmayr für Ihre Arbeit im KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd.

Der Kunstwürdigungspreis der Stadt Linz wird als Anerkennung für das gesamte künstlerische oder kulturelle Wirken einer Person, Personengruppe, Institution, Kulturinitiative und/oder eines Vereins vergeben, das als außergewöhnlicher Beitrag in Linz und Österreich angesehen werden kann. Die Vergabe des Kunstwürdigungspreises erfolgt auf Vorschlag einer Fachjury in vierjährigen Intervallen. Beate Rathmayr und Susanne Blaimschein haben im November 2016 den Kunstwürdigungspreis in der Sparte „Bildende Kunst und interdisziplinäre Kunstformen“ für ihre gemeinsame Arbeit im KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd, pro mente OÖ, erhalten. Weitere Preisträger sind das Architekturforum OÖ, Dorf TV, Marcus Füreder/Parov Stelar und Walter Pilar.

http://www.linz.at/presse/kultur_top_news_84792.asp

Jurybegründung:
„Mit dem KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd bereichern Blaimschein und Rathmayr seit vielen Jahren das kulturelle und soziale Leben in Linz in einzigartiger Weise. In ihren Projekten überschreiten sie in produktiver Weise Grenzen zwischen Kunst, Stadtteilkultur und psycho-sozialen Angeboten. Partizipation zählt zu den wesentlichen Leitlinien in der Arbeit, von aktivierenden Methoden der bildenden Kunst bis zu theatralen Formaten. Kunst im öffentlichen Raum und ihre Strategien sind wesentlicher Teil der Aktivität des Kunstraums, dessen Projekte, Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen vorrangig in der Vielstimmigkeit von Teams realisiert werden.
In der migrantisch gepägten Linzer Neustadt angesiedelt, haben Blaimschein und Rathmayr einen bewußten Umgang mit diesem Standort entwickelt. BewohnerInnen sind zur Beteiligung und Nutzung eingeladen, auf Augenhöhe mit Kulturschaffenden, der Kunstszene und KlientInnen der Trägerorganisation pro mente. Für Beteiligte und BesucherInnen öffnen Blaimschein und Rathmayr immer neue Möglichkeitsräume. Für Linz erschließen sie nicht nur lokale, sondern – wie zB im Rahmen von EU-Projekten oder studentischem Austausch – auch international orientierte Kooperationen.
Zitate der Jury:“Sie könnten es sich leicht machen, aber das tun sie nicht.“ „Ohne Kunst-Raum Goethestrasse xtd. wäre Linz ärmer.“

WEITERE PREISE:

2014 _ Stadt der Kulturen 2014 in Kooperation mit ibuk

2014 _  Bundesministerium für Bildung und Frauen _ Auszeichnung für die Kulturkooperation „Kleine Tools für eine große Bewegung“ mit der HLW des Schulvereins der Kreuzschwestern in Linz

2012 _ Stadt der Kulturen 2012 – in Kooperation mit ZIKO und Iris Andraschek

2010 _ Stadt der Kulturen 2010 – in Kooperation mit ibuk

Stadt der Vielfalt – Preis der Stadt Linz für Integration und Interkulturalität – in Kooperation mit migrare

2008 _ Kleiner Landeskulturpreis für Initaitive Kulturarbeit

 

 

NEUIGKEITEN

WEITERLESEN

WER WIR SIND

RAUSFINDEN

WAS WIR TUN

ERKUNDEN