08/04/2021

The dimensions of making things. A contribution by Victoria Windtner


In an exhibition about things and the new publication about the KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd, Susanne Blaimschein and Beate Rathmayr show what collective processes in art and cultural production can look like.

What does a banana tell you when you ask it about its childhood? In the design phase of the project “Things we can do now”, one participant addresses this question directly to a piece of fruit. “It’s about things from everyday life, dealing with what’s there,” explains Beate Rathmayr, artist and exhibition organiser of KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd.

Productive participation in the lockdown.
“We want to bring people into the process of creating,” emphasises KunstRaum director Susanne Blaimschein. To this end, people who accepted the invitation to the production process received instructions for action, questions and a grab bag of things. These were intended to inspire people to make things and also to irritate them a little. “Things we can do now” invites us into the present moment, makes us aware of what surrounds us and appeals to our ability to act while the possibilities are limited due to a pandemic. “We wanted to send something home to people,” Blaimschein recalls of the first Lockdown 2020, when KunstRaum launched a flower craft campaign and sent flower craft packages to a total of 250 participants. Collecting things and the “traces of humanity” transported along with them became the focus in autumn 2020. The POP-UP exhibition “MAKE OUR THING!” was created in cooperation with the art education department of the Lentos Linz.

Art space as an interface.
Since 2008, the association pro mente Oberösterreich has been offering the KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd as an interface and connection between art and social issues. 300 square metres of space for exhibitions, productions and encounters. The field of activity is as diverse as the people who participate in it: From designs, workshops, to lectures and public campaigns. 40 different projects are planned for 2021, the theme of the year is: “Inside I am, not outside”.

Documented work
With the publication “Wir Können Da Was Machen” the KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd now provides insights into the dimensions of its own work. Commissioned by Linz AG Linien and the City of Peace Linz in 2016-2017, for example, the highly visible art and Victoria Windtner, OÖ Kulturbericht 04/21
communication campaign “City of Respect” was implemented. Buses, trams and billboards transported messages in Linz’s urban space. The catalogue, however, shows above all the less visible, such as Kunst am Bau projects, performances and realisations in other places.

The designer Gerald Priewasser-Höller uses some catalogues as material and combines them to create the installation “QVERLESEN – Wir können da was machen”. Priewasser-Höller refers to “the importance of cohesion and diffusion into society”. It materialises what the KunstRaum stands for: Weaving networks and connections between art and the social, from the individual to the common.

In the exhibition “Things we can do now” all things come together that were created by participants during the last lockdown. Two large showroom windows at 30 Goethestrasse invite pandemic-compliant viewing as you pass by. “The showroom will be full of things”.

This article appeared in modified form in the Cultural Report of the Province of Upper Austria 04/21.

by Victoria Windtner (German Original)
www.victoriawindtner.at @vicawind

NEWS

READ MORE

WHO WE ARE

FIND OUT

WHAT WE DO

EXPLORE

08/04/2021

Die Dimensionen des Machens der Dinge. Ein Beitrag von Victoria Windtner


In einer Dinge-Ausstellung und Publikation über den KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd zeigen Susanne Blaimschein und Beate Rathmayr wie kollektive Prozesse in der Kunst- und Kulturproduktion aussehen können.

Was erzählt eine Banane, wenn man sie nach ihrer Kindheit fragt? In der Gestaltungsphase des Projekts „Dinge, die wir jetzt machen können“ richtet eine Beteiligte diese Frage direkt an ein Stück Obst. „Es geht um Dinge aus dem Alltag, die Auseinandersetzung mit dem was da ist“, erklärt Beate Rathmayr, Künstlerin und Ausstellungsorganisatorin des KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd.

Produktive Partizipation im Lockdown
„Wir möchten die Menschen in den Prozess des Gestaltens bringen“, betont KunstRaum Leiterin Susanne Blaimschein. Dazu erhielten Menschen, die der Einladung zum Produktionsprozess folgten, Handlungsanweisungen, Fragestellungen und eine Wundertüte mit Dingen. Diese sollten zum Dinge-Machen inspirieren und auch ein wenig irritieren. „Dinge, die wir jetzt machen können“ lädt in den gegenwärtigen Moment ein, macht bewusst was uns umgibt und appelliert an unsere Handlungsfähigkeit, während die Möglichkeiten aufgrund einer Pandemie eingeschränkt sind. „Wir wollten den Menschen etwas nach Hause schicken“, erinnert sich Blaimschein an den ersten Lockdown 2020. Der KunstRaum startete damals eine Blumenbastelaktion und versendete Blumenbastelpakete an insgesamt 250 Teilnehmer*innen. Das Sammeln von Dingen und die dabei mittransportierten „Spuren der Menschlichkeit“, rückten im Herbst 2020 in den Fokus. In Kooperation mit der Kunstvermittlung des Lentos Linz entstand die POP-UP Ausstellung „MACHEN WIR UNSER DING!“.

KunstRaum als Interface
Seit 2008 bietet der Verein pro mente OÖ mit dem KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd eine Schnitt- und Verbindungsstelle zwischen Kunst und Sozialem. 300 Quadratmeter Raum für Ausstellungen, Produktionen und Begegnungen. Das Tätigkeitsfeld ist so vielfältig, wie die Menschen, die sich daran beteiligen: Von Gestaltungen, Workshops, über Vorträge bis hin zu öffentlichen Kampagnen. 40 verschiedene Projekte sind für 2021 geplant, das Jahresthema lautet: „Im Innen bin ich, nicht im Außen“.

Dokumentiertes Schaffen
Mit der Publikation „Wir Können Da Was Machen“ gibt der KunstRaum Goethestrasse xtd nun Einblicke in die Dimensionen des eigenen Schaffens. Im Auftrag der Linz AG Linien und der Friedensstadt Linz wurde 2016-2017 beispielsweise die gut sichtbare Kunst- und Victoria Windtner, OÖ Kulturbericht 04/21
Kommunikationskampagne „City of Respect“ umgesetzt. Busse, Straßenbahnen und Plakatflächen transportierten Botschaften im Linzer Stadtraum. Der Katalog zeigt aber vor allem weniger Sichtbares, wie Kunst am Bau Projekte, Performances und Realisierungen an anderen Orten.

Der Gestalter Gerald Priewasser-Höller verwendet einige Kataloge als Material und verbindet sie zur Installation „QVERLESEN – Wir können da was machen“. Priewasser-Höller verweist auf „die Wichtigkeit des Zusammenhalts und des Diffundierens in die Gesellschaft“. Es materialisiert sich wofür der KunstRaum steht: Netze und Verbindungen knüpfen zwischen Kunst und Sozialem, vom Einzelnen zum Gemeinsamen.

In der Ausstellung „Dinge die wir jetzt machen können“ treffen alle Dinge zusammen, die von Mitwirkenden während des letzten Lockdowns gestaltet wurden. Zwei große Schauraumfenster in der Goethestrasse 30 laden zur pandemiekonformen Betrachtung im Vorbeigehen ein. „Der Schauraum wird voller Dinge sein“.

Dieser Artikel ist in abgeänderter Form im Kulturbericht des Landes Oberösterreich 04/21 erschienen.

Victoria Windtner
www.victoriawindtner.at @vicawind

NEUIGKEITEN

WEITERLESEN

WER WIR SIND

RAUSFINDEN

WAS WIR TUN

ERKUNDEN